License Renewal

Operator's License

Applying for Real ID for the first time must be done in person. If your license has a gold star on the upper right corner, you already have Real ID and you can renew using any method listed below.

You can renew your Rhode Island driver's license up to 90 days before its expiration date. You can renew online with a credit card, at any DMV branch location or AAA branch office (members only). You can also mail in your renewal with a check, money order or a completed credit card by mail form to the address listed on your Driver’s License Renewal form or the License/ID/Permit Application (LI-1). Costs are listed on the DMV Fee Table or on your Driver’s License Renewal form.

  • To renew your Rhode Island driver's license, bring your current license and a completed Driver’s License Renewal form or the License/ID/Permit Application (LI-1). If your current license is lost, refer to the third page of the License/ID/Permit Application (LI-1) for a list of acceptable documents to bring with you.
  • Licenses are renewed for a maximum of five years. For customers over age 72, your license expiration date will be prorated to expire by your 75th birthday and every 2 years thereafter.
  • If an address change is necessary, you may change it online or mail in a  Change of Address form. This will not generate a new credential. Please allow 15 minutes for the online address change to take effect.
  • If you have not received your permanent driver's license and it has been over 60 days from obtaining the temporary copy, please call (401) 462-5862 to inquire if the license has been returned to the DMV Cranston headquarters. When prompted, leave a message with your name, telephone contact number, and your license number. Please speak slowly and spell out your first & last name.
  • Your temporary license is valid for 90 days from the date of renewal. You must renew in person, or through the mail with a request, to receive a temporary license with a photo. 
  • If you renew online, you will not receive a temporary license. Your receipt, along with your current license, will be accepted for state and local law enforcement purposes.      

NOTE: If you require a temporary credential with a photo on it, then an in-person reservation is required. Once you have renewed online, you will be unable to receive a temporary license with your photo on it.

 

Visa Status Applicants: 

Must bring all current Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) documents when applying for a license, license renewal, duplicate license, or a Rhode Island Identification Card.