

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE
600 New Landon Avenue, Cranatan, PJ, 02020, 2024

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR NEW DEALERSHIP

Instructions for applicants in making first application for a dealer's license must be accompanied by all of the following documents:

- 1. The proposed dealership name and location must be approved by the Dealers' License & Regulation Office prior to making this application. All used car dealerships must include "Auto Sales" in their name.
- 2. Application, financial statement prepared by a certified public accountant (CPA), and employee forms must be completed in full, signed and notarized, and accompanied by an approved line of credit for fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) from a financial institution, in the dealership's name.
- 3. \$50,000 surety bond (from insurance company) completed, signed, and notarized in the D/BA name.
- 4. Each owner, partner, or corporate officer must submit a Bureau of Criminal Identification (SCI), issued by the Attorney General's Office, 150 South Main Street, Providence, RI, (401) 274-4400. If the individual is not a Rhode Island resident or has moved into the state within the past five (5) years, the individual must obtain a criminal record check, performed by the appropriate state agency from the other state, in addition to the Rhode Island SCI. Attach a picture ID.
- 5. Copy of formal lease agreement issued to the dealership (for one-year minimum) stating total square footage of building and outside area, etc., signed and notarized, or a copy of deed (if property is owned by the dealership). 2,400 sq. ft. minimum size building and 2,400 sq. ft. minimum size for outside (total building square footage can be on separate levels).
- 6. Copy of city/town license (second-hand license), if required, otherwise, a letter of zoning approval from city/town approving the sales of motor vehicles at that proposed dealership address.
- 7. Four (4) pictures of the outside of building from all angles, to include the entire building and lot display area.
- 8. **For corporation only:** Copy of articles of incorporation, copy of the minutes showing the election of all corporate officers, and a copy of fictitious name report (if operating under D/B/A name) and a letter of good standing from the Rhode Island Secretary of State (LLC requires an operating agreement).
- 9. If a franchise dealer, then you must first comply with Rhode Island General Law §31-5.1-4.2 (having the Manufacturer/Distributor Issue Letter(s) of Intent). If no protests are received after the 30-day protest period, your application will go before the board. Manufacturer/Distributor must be licenses with the Dealers' License & Regulation Office.

Upon our receipt of the above, your application will be investigated and scheduled for a hearing before our Dealer's Hearing Board. If granted a license, the following documents must be received in this office within thirty (30) days in order to finalize the application and be issued a dealer's license.

- 10. Call the Licensing Aide (401) 462-5732 to request license and plate numbers that have been assigned.
- 11. You must contact the Rhode Island Division of Taxation to order forms, (401) 574-8869 or 574-8895, located at One Capitol Hill, Providence, to receive your sales tax permit and blue forms. Please submit a copy of tax permit and blue forms to this office.
- 12. Picture of 24 sq. ft. sign (minimum size), stating the exact dealership name. Use the D/B/A name, if you are using one.
- 13. \$302.50 License Fee (money order or check), made payable to "Dealers' License & Regulation Office."
- 14. Business telephone number.
- 15. Insurance filing (GU-1338 certificate) on dealer plate insurance coverage, (DB/A name only) **original certificate must be sent to the Financial Responsibility Office, located within the Cranston DMV location**. For information, contact the Financial Responsibility Office(401) 462-9246.
- If franchise dealer, you must supply the Dealer Agreement
- 17. Fax a blank Bill of Sale form to the Dealers' License & Regulation Office (401) 462-5789, for approval.
- 18. After requirements are completed by Investigator, a Licensing Aide will contact you to make an appointment to finalize.

PAGE 1 rev. 07/2020

APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER'S LICENSE



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024 Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789

www.dmv.ri.gov

OFFICIAI	L USE ONLY
License #: _	
Date Granted: _	
Date Issued: _	
Check #: _	
Plate #: _	

		Plate #:	
1.	Date:		
2.	Corporate Name:		
3.	D/B/A Name:		
	Principal Business Location:		
	E-mail:		
	Business #: Fax #:		
	Home #: Cellular #:		
	Location of Branch Offices, if any:		
1.	Type of Dealer: ☐ New Vehicles Only ☐ Used Vehicles Only ☐ New & Us	ed Vehicles	
	If <u>new</u> car dealer, estimate number of dealers selling same make of car	in your city/town:	
5.	Type of Vehicles: Passenger Cars Only Trucks Only Passenge Tractor-trailers	r Cars & Trucks	
3 .	How long have you been established as a dealer?		
7.	If a new car dealer, what make of vehicles?		
3.	Have you a dealer's contract or franchise? ☐ YES ☐ NO		
9.	Franchise or Contract:		
ļ	Name Address	Date	
-			
-			
∟ 10.	Floor Space: Sales Service		
	Yard Space: Sales Service		
	Value of Service Station Equipment:		

PAGE 2 rev. 07/2020

11. Give names and addresses of $\underline{\textbf{ALL}}$ officers and members of the firm:

Title	Na	ime	Residence Address
2. Number of Salespersor	s Employed:		
B. Name of Insurance Con			Policy #:
			ates assigned to proposed dealer:
5. Number of privately reg business:	jistered cars, truck	s, flat beds, and t	ow trucks registered personally or to the
Registration Number(s)):		
. Business References a	nd telephone #s:		
institution.		-	and dollars (\$50,000) from a financial
the undersigned, hereby m and the above informa	declare that I am _ tion is true to the I		dge or belief.
ritten signature of applica	ant:		
ate of Rhode Island			
ounty of:		_	
ubscribed and sworn to b	efore me this	day of	, 20
			Notary Public
			·
			Commission expires

FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BALANCE SHEET

CORPORATE NAME	BU	JSINESS ADDRESS	CITY	STATE ZIP CODE	
D/B/A NAME			PRESIDENT		
OWNER			VICE PRESIDENT		
PARTNER			SECRETARY		
TREASURER					
ASSETS		LIABILITIES			
Current Assets	Amount	Curren	t Liabilities	Amount	
. Cash on Hand	\$		counts Payable	\$	
2. Cash in	\$		otes Payable	\$	
Name of Bank	\$		of New Cars Floor-Planned	\$	
. Cash in Name of Bank	Ψ		of New Trcks. & Impl. Floor-Pir		
Receivables			of Demonstrators Floor-Planne Used Vehicles Floor-Planned	:	
. Acco unts \$	\$	Z0. # C	JSEG VENICIES FIGOI-Planned	\$	
nventories (At Cost Plus Freight)	Φ		stomer Deposits on Motor Vivered (Names to be furnished up		
. New and Used Cars & Trucks	\$	a. C	Cash	\$	
(At cost or book value – whichever is lower)	Ψ		rade-in on other merchandise	· 	
6. Parts and Accessories	\$	28. So	c.Sec. & Unemploy. Comp.	\$	
7. Other Inventory (Describe)	\$	 2 29. TO ʻ	TAL (lines 21-28 incl.)	\$	
3	\$		•	Ψ	
l	\$	Mortga	iges Payable On:		
0	\$	30. La	nd and Buildings (Auto Busine	299.\$	
Prepaid Expenses			ito Machinery (tools & equipme		
			fice Furniture and Fixtures		
1. Rent and Insurance	\$				
2. Other Prepaid Expenses	\$	34. Ju	herdgment Outstanding	\$	
ixed Assets			es and Contingent Liabilities		
3. Land and Buildings (Auto Business)	\$	— 35 la	nd and Buildings (Auto Busine	2cc/¢	
4. Auto Machinery (tools & equipment)	\$		her		
5. Office Furniture and Fixtures	\$	37		- Ψ	
Other Assets Not Listed Above	—		TAL (lines 21-35 incl.)	- Ψ \$	
6	\$	—— Capital	- 1		
7	\$	-			
8	\$		ock Outstanding	\$	
9	\$		oprietor's Investment	\$	
20. TOTAL ASSETS	\$	41. Par	rtner's Investments	\$	
0. 10 M2 M30212	*		PTAL (lines 39-42 incl.) could equal total assets)	\$	
STATE OF) SS.				
	,				
COUNTY)				
I,, the above named applicant and the report therein stated on information and belief, an	of the consum	ner's deposits are tr			
Subscribed and sworn to before me on this	day				
of, 20			Signature of Partner, Owner or Activ	e Officer	
Notary Public			CPA Signature	LICENSE NUMBER	
Notary rubiic			Of A Signature	LICENSE NOMBEN	



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

MEASUREMENTS

- 1. Give the precise measurements of the area to be utilized for sale of vehicles, building, and outside display area.
- 2. This form and application <u>must be completed</u> before it will be accepted.

BUILDING

- Measurements of the building to be used for auto sales only.
 - o Size of building must be a total of 2,400 sq. ft. minimum
 - o If you have a body shop, the total size must be 4,800 sq. ft. or larger
 - Please show garage doors and entrance to the building.

OUTSIDE DISPLAY AREA

- Must be 2,400 sq. ft. to be used only for sale of vehicles.
 - Please show entrance and exits of display area.

PAGE 5 rev. 07/2020



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024 Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

EMPLOYEE LIST

Corporate Name:		
D/B/A Name:		
List all employees who are presently on your pay	roll and receive W	/-2 forms:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licer	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licen	se #:
Name:	Driver's Licen	nse #:
Name:	Driver's Licen	nse #:
NOTE: Please submit a new list every time there the Dealers' License & Regulation Office. Have you or any of your employees had any crimilodged against them? YES NO		
If so, please explain in detail on an additional she	<u>et</u> .	
I, the undersigned, hereby declare under penalty the number of employees, and to the best of my k Laws § 31-11-17.	nowledge this is	true and correct. Rhode Island General
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Officer	·	
State of Rhode Island		
County of:		
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	_ day of	, 20
		Notary Public
		Commission expires

PAGE 6 rev. 07/2020

OF RHODE 16 TO THE STATE OF THE

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLESDEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

DEALERS' EMPLOYEE AUTHORIZATION

Dealership Licensed Name:		
Business Address:		
Authorization #:		
The following people, including owner, partne day Temporary Plates, Loaner Agreement form Vehicles for the above named dealership.		
Name:	_ Driver's L	icense #:
Name:	_ Driver's L	icense #:
Name:	_ Driver's L	icense #:
It is understood that every dealership is entitle the Employee List receiving a W-2 form. You need to make any changes to this list.		
NOTE: This is not an authorization to register	vehicles in the D	Dealers' Room.
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Offi	cer:	
Printed Name:		
State of Rhode Island		
County of:	-	
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	day of	, 20
		Notary Public
		Commission expires

PAGE 7 rev. 07/2020

OF RHODE ISLANDE

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLESDEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

DEALERS' RUNNER AUTHORIZATION

Dealership Licensed Name:			
Business Address:			
AUTHORIZED RHODE ISLAND DEALER RUNNER	<u>RS</u>		
Name:	Driver's Li	icense #:	
Name:	Driver's L	icense #:	
Name:	Driver's Li	icense #:	
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Office	r:	-	
Printed Name:			
State of Rhode Island			
County of:			
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	day of	, 20	
		Notary Public	
		Commission expires	

PAGE 8 rev. 07/2020

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

Date:	
PLEASE READ AND SIGN ACKNO	WLEDGEMENT
	receipt of a copy of the <i>Rules and Regulations</i> , <i>and Rental Licenses</i> , and Understand said rule and
Corporate Name:	
D/B/A Name:	
1.	
Printed Name:	Signature:
Title:	Date:
2.	
Printed Name:	Signature:
Title:	Date:
3.	
Printed Name:	Signature:
Title:	Date:
Walter R. Craddork	

Administrator - DMV

PAGE 9 rev. 07/2020



DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789

www.dmv.ri.gov

TO: ALL DEALERS

SUBJECT: CITY/TOWN LICENSE

If your dealership is located in a city or town that requires you to have a second hand license to sell used vehicles, a valid copy of the license must accompany this application. If the license expires during the year, an up-to-date copy must be sent to the Dealers' License and Regulations Office.

CITIES THAT CURRENTLY REQUIRE LICENSE:

Central Falls

Cranston

East Providence

Esmond

Exeter

Foster

Johnston

Pawtucket

Providence

Warwick

West Greenwich

Woonsocket

PAGE 10 rev. 07/2020

SHODE IS LAND TO REPORT OF MOTOR VEHICLE

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLESDEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789

www.dmv.ri.gov

NOTICE:

Please be advised pursuant to the Rhode Island Sales and Use Tax Laws, Title 44, Chapter 19, all records, files, and information herein, will be made available to the Department of Revenue, Division of Taxation.

Administrator - DMV

PAGE 11 rev. 07/2020



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS TO APPLY FOR A DEALERS' LICENSE

APPLICATION:

Every dealer must fill out an application for a dealer's license on a form prescribed by the Dealers' License & Regulations Office. Every applicant for a motor vehicle dealer's license, except in case of renewal, must furnish a plan or blueprint of the establishment or location where she/he intends to do business, together with four (4) photographs showing front view, right- and left-side views of the premises, along with the application.

REQUIREMENTS FOR DEALERS:

"Must be primarily a dealer in motor vehicles": The business of dealing in motor vehicles is of prime and vital importance to the car buying public. The purchaser of a motor vehicle has the right to expect that it be equipped with proper brakes, lights, and other safety appliances required by law. Consequently, the sale of motor vehicles must not be carried on a side line by any other type of business.

- 1. Any scrap/salvage dealers must set up an entirely separate place of business and comply with those minimum requirements to operate as a motor vehicle dealer.
- 2. Any gasoline filling station who desires to become a motor vehicle dealer, must, in addition to meeting all other requirements, remove all retail gasoline pumps and signs.

PLACE OF BUSINESS

Every dealer must establish a suitable place which to conduct the business of dealing in motor vehicles. The business must be housed in a building, on the premises, which contains at least 2,400 square feet of enclosed and heated floor space to provide a suitable office and space where motor vehicles may be properly repaired and serviced. Minimum floor space in all instances shall be interpreted as ground level space and, in instances, shall basements or a second floor (or any upper or lower areas) be considered in computing the required minimum amount of office, service of showroom enclosed space. Any applicant requesting a license to deal in motor vehicles who presently maintains or intends to apply for a competitive body shop license must provide at least 2,400 square feet of enclosed and heated floor space, in addition to any other license requirements. A minimum requirement for lot display must be 2,400 square feet. This place of business must be used exclusively by the dealer for the purpose of displaying, buying, and selling vehicles and other vehicle-related items.

Dealers solely in the business of buying and selling motor scooters, motorcycles, and mopeds will be licensed to sell these vehicles only. The place of business for such dealers must be housed in a building that measures at least 1,200 square feet of enclosed and heated floor space to provide a suitable office and space where cycles may be properly repaired and serviced. Such dealer's license must be stamped "For mopeds, motorcycles, or motor scooters only." Dealer plates issued to such dealers may only be used on mopeds, motorcycles, or motor scooters, and may not be used on other motor vehicles.

PROOF OF OWNERSHIP OR LEASE

Every dealer must provide at the time of application for dealer's license proof of ownership of the place of business or with a copy of lease for the place of business that is at least one (1) year in duration.

PAGE 12 rev. 07/2020

CHANGE IN LOCATION

When a change in location is contemplated, notification shall be made to the Dealers' License & Regulations Office on whatever forms deemed necessary. If the new location has not been previously approved, the same procedure shall be followed, as if it were a new application.

ZONING

Every applicant for a dealer's license who desires to operate in any city/town which has a zoning law or zoning regulations must submit proof, in writing, that the property on which she/he intends to conduct her/his motor vehicle dealership is properly zoned for the business of dealing in motor vehicles. The Dealers' License & Regulations Office must receive a copy of that license in lieu of the zoning approval notice.

REPAIR AND SERVICE FACILITIES

Every dealer must maintain a service and repair shop with sufficient tools to perform routine repairs and maintenance of motor vehicles.

DISPLAY OF LICENSE

Every dealer must conspicuously display the dealer's license at the location for which it was issued.

SIGNS

Every dealer must display a sign or window lettering on the front of the premises where the building is located showing the actual name under which the business is licensed. The words and lettering of the sign must be of size sufficiently large enough to be readily discerned. The total size must be a minimum of twenty-four (24) square feet, or the maximum under local zoning ordinances, if such ordinances restrict signs less than 23 square feet.

BUSINESS TELEPHONES

Prior to the issuance of a dealer's license, all applicants must have a telephone installed at the licensed address, including main, branch, and annex locations.

LOCATIONS

A separate license must be obtained for each annex or branch location. The Dealers' License and Regulations Office may waive certain requirements for dealers when an annex is within a two-mile radius of the place of business specified on the dealer's license.

Forward original bonds to:

RHODE ISLAND DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE

600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

That we	
of	
as principal and	
a corporation organized under the laws of the State of and authorized to do business in the State of Rhode Island	and having an office at
in the State of Phode Island as surety are hold and firmly by	bund unto the Rhode Island Dealers' License and Regulations Office in the State of
States of America, well and truly to be paid to the said Regu	dollars (\$) lawful money of the United ulations Office or their successors, or assigns, for which payment, well and truly to be
made, we bind ourselves, ours heirs, executors, administration of the principal has applied or about to apply to the Rhode Island motor vehicle dealer pursuant to the provisions of Chapter	tors and successors jointly and severally, firmly by these presents. Said Regulations om the principal any and all right arising out of this obligation. WHEREAS, The Dealers' License and Regulations Office for a license to conduct the business of a 1499 Public Laws 1956, as amended, for the year commencing ember 31, 20 at in the State of Rhode Island.
the motor vehicles dealers license law, being Chapter 1499 all costs and damages incurred or caused by any violation of	FION IS SUCH, that if the said principal shall faithfully comply with the provisions of Public Laws of 1956 as amended or as hereafter amended, and shall promptly pay of the provisions of said Chapter or any regulation of the Rhode Island Dealers' void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect, subject, however, to the following
1. The aggregate liability of the Surety on account of	any and all defaults hereunder shall in no event exceed the penal sum of this bond.
the above-stated calendar year. The Surety many written notice to said Principal and the Rhode Islar shall, at the expiration of said sixty (60) days, ceas	ed, this bond shall be in effect for the period of said license. Ending December 31st of the control of the con
3. No action to recover hereunder may be brought af	ter the expiration of two (2) years from the termination of this bond.
Signed, sealed and delivered in the presence of:	Dealership Name:
	Owner's Signature:
Print Name of Insurance Agency	Surety by:
	Surety Authorized Signature:
	Title:
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PRINCIPAL (As owner, partner or corporate officer)
County of	
	20 before me personally appeared the above-named
, rep	presenting
as to me known and known to me to be the same person de execution of the same.	escribed in and who executed the above instrument and duly acknowledged the
Notary Public	
Approved, 20	Rhode Island Dealers' License and Regulations Office
Administrator	

IMPORTANT NOTE: THIS BOND IS NOT VALID UNLESS PROOF OF ACCEPTANCE (Power of Attorney Authorization) FROM INSURANCE COMPANY IS ATTACHED TO THIS DOCUMENT. SUBMIT ORIGINAL BONDS TO THE DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATION OFFICE, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI 02920

PAGE 14 rev. 07/2020



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

(E) **BILLS OF SALE:** Every dealer must give a bill of sale with each vehicle purchased, and must maintain a copy of the bill of sale as part of the records required above in Section VII, subsection (D). The bill of sale must be numbered and contain the dealer license number, odometer reading, and must state what warranties are being given. If no warranty is given, this must also be stated on the bill of sale. The bill of sale for all used vehicles must also contain a notice to the buyer which clearly and conspicuously states as follows: "Attention purchaser: Rhode Island law requires that all motor vehicles sold at retail must be in such condition as to pass a State safety inspection at the time of sale so as to protect consumers."

PAGE 15 rev. 07/2020



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5733 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

TITLE 31 Motor and Other vehicles

CHAPTER 31-5.4 Consumer Enforcement of Used Motor Vehicle Warranties

SECTION 31-5.4-4

- § 31-5.4-4 Waiver notice. (a) Whenever any agreement is entered into by a consumer with a dealer for the purchase of a used motor vehicle which waives or disclaims the rights set forth in this chapter, the dealer shall post a notice unobstructed and conspicuously on the windshield of the vehicle to be sold. The notice shall be at least eight and one-half inches (8 1/2") by eleven inches (11") in size, in bold print one inch in height, and shall state, "NO WARRANTY AS TO CONDITION SOLD AS IS".
- (b) Whenever any dealer enters into an agreement with a consumer for a purchase of a motor vehicle, any waiver or disclaimer of the rights set forth in this chapter shall be printed on the bill of sale in a type size larger and of a different color than any other type on the bill of sale. The waiver shall be separately initialed by the purchaser and the dealer.
- (c) Nothing in this section shall in any way limit the rights or remedies which are otherwise available to a consumer under any other law.
- (d) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, this chapter shall not apply to used motor vehicles sold for less than one thousand five hundred dollars (\$1,500). Further, this chapter shall not apply to the sale of classic cars registered pursuant to this title.

History of Section. (P.L. 1985, ch. 342, § 1.)

PAGE 16 rev. 07/2020