

http://www.dmv.ri.gov

# SKILLS TEST

Information and Requirements

Preparing for Your Operator's License Skills Test





Save time, schedule your test online!



# BE PREPARED ON THE DAY OF YOUR TEST

#### **VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS /** □ Must have a valid RHODE ISLAND registration & Inspection Sticker\*. □ Vehicle owner/lessee must be present. If the registered owner of the vehicle is not present, a notarized letter allowing use of the vehicle is required. (letter from the owner/corporate officer of a corporation, if a corporate vehicle). ☐ To be used for the test, the vehicle must pass a visual pre-trip safety inspection conducted by the Test Examiner. The following items are part of the safety inspection: Valid RI Inspection Sticker Tires • SRS (airbag) Light Directional Lights ABS Light Headlights Brake Lights Sunscreen Tinting as pro- Hazard Lights hibited by law

\*(Vehicles less than 2 years old with less than 24,000 miles are exempt from this requirement)

Due to the lack of modern safety features, NO tests will be permitted in antique vehicles.

# **▼** REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

| Original permit. (photocopies are not acceptable)   |
|---|
| Proof of valid, current Rhode Island insurance identification card for the vehicle being used for the test. (photocopies and electronic copies are acceptable)  |
| Completed "Application for License, Identification Card and Permits (LI-1)" form (required for first license issuance) *If under 18 years of age and applying for a first license, the LI-1 form must be notarized if parent/guardian is not present, or has a different last name than the applicant. <sup>1</sup> |
| Signed and notarized affidavit of 50 hours driving experience required for all drivers under 18 years of age. 1   |

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Forms available at : http://www.dmv.ri.gov/roadtest/preparation/

# ~

## **ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS**

| Applicant must be completely familiar with all vehicle controls.  |
|---|
| Licensed driver/supervising driver must accompany if the applicant is under 18.                                   |
| All instructions will be given in English. (Lists of terms used during the test are available upon request.)      |
| No cameras or recording devices will be allowed during the test.  |
| No rental vehicles are allowed for the skills tests.  |
| No pets allowed in the vehicle used for the skills test.  |
| No passengers (other than DMV Examiners and qualified interpreters) allowed in the vehicle during on skills tests |

## **BUILD YOUR DRIVING SKILLS**

With a Limited Instruction Permit, you can practice driving under the supervision of a properly licensed driver who has held a license for at least five (5) years and is twenty-one (21) years of age or older. The licensed driver must be sitting beside you at all times. The licensed driver is legally responsible for any driving violation you may commit.

You and all passengers must wear a safety belt or be in a child restraint system as required by law.

Individuals under the age of 18 must hold a Limited Instruction Permit for at least six (6) months and have at least 50 hours of supervised driving experience (with ten of those hours at night) before they can take a Rhode Island DMV skills test. A Signed and notarized affidavit verifying that this 50 hour requirement has been met will be required prior to license issuance.

**Individuals over the age of 18** must hold a Learner's Permit for at least one (1) month. While not required by law, we highly recommend that they have the same 50 hours of supervised driving experience before taking the Rhode Island DMV skills test.

A driver is more apt to perform the way they practice. Learning only from a family member or close friend may introduce you to bad habits that the family member or friend may have learned or adapted on his or her own. You should drive with as many different supervising drivers as possible to gain as much experience as possible.

# SCHEDULING YOUR TEST

#### **ONLINE SKILLS TEST SELF-SCHEDULING**



We are happy to now offer the convenience to selfschedule and modify your appointment online from your home computer or mobile device. This service may only be accessed from the RI DMV website located at

#### http://www.dmv.ri.gov

Be sure you are on the official RI DMV website, only official government sites use the ".gov" name! For the best selection of locations, dates, and times we recommend you schedule your appointment as far in advance as possible. To schedule your appointment you will need to have the following items ready:

- Your valid learner's permit
- A printer (to print receipt if desired)
- A major credit card (if fee is applicable)

You can reschedule or review your appointment online, even if your original appointment was made in person at the DMV.

#### **CANCELLING OR RE-SCHEDULING**

Permit holders may also use this service to cancel and/ or re-schedule existing appointments at least 48 hours prior to the scheduled appointment time without incurring any additional fees.

NOTE: Skills tests cancelled less than 48 hours prior to the scheduled date and time will be considered a late cancellation and will require payment for another appointment.

### **WEATHER POLICY**

Skills tests will be automatically cancelled by DMV when the Governor declares a state of emergency for the entire state, announces that all State Offices are closed, or weather conditions are considered unsafe for testing. Check the Agency Announcements section at www.dmv.ri.gov for the most up to date information. A DMV representative will attempt to contact you to reschedule the test as soon as the determination is made and or the state of emergency is lifted. If you are not contacted, please contact the Skills Test Office at (401) 462-5750 or by emailing us at:DMV.Exams@dmv.ri.gov You may reschedule a new skills test at no additional fee if your skills test was cancelled due to weather conditions.