

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES Insurance Verification Office 600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920-3024

VEHICLE REGISTRATION REVOCATION NOTICE

Notice Date: Effective Revocation Date: Effective Time: Reference No:

The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (RI DMV) has implemented the Rhode Island Insurance Verification System (RIIVS) in order to verify insurance for vehicles registered in Rhode Island. Since RIIVS was unable to verify insurance for the vehicle listed below, you are hereby notified that your registration will be revoked for this vehicle as required by **RIGL 31-47.4-4**.

YR/MAKE/MODEL: VIN: PLATE: PLATE TYPE:

Once the registration is revoked, in order to restore your RI registration for the vehicle listed, you must obtain proper insurance, complete the appropriate affidavit and pay a fee of \$252.50 at:

1. http://www.dmv.ri.gov	OR	2. RI DMV INSURANCE VERIFICATION OFFICE
Look for Insurance Verification		600 New London Avenue
		Cranston, RI 02920

As of October 5, 2017, reservations will be required for most transactions in the Adjudication Office. Visit www.dmv.ri.gov/adjudication for details.

If you believe you received this notice in error because you had valid insurance in effect prior to the due date of ______, please contact the phone number listed below. If the word MONITORING appears as a due

date it means that records indicate you discontinued your vehicle insurance during the 12 month monitoring period that resulted from a previous registration revocation for failure to verify insurance.

Information regarding the Insurance Verification Program can be found on our website at <u>http://www.dmv.ri.gov</u>. The Insurance Verification Office can be reached at (401) 462-5870.

PLEASE REFER TO THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM FOR HEARING INFORMATION AND PROCEDURES.

IMPORTANT-PLEASE READ

IF YOUR REGISTRATION IS REVOKED, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO OBTAIN OR RENEW ANY AND ALL RI REGISTRATIONS, AND OBTAIN OR RENEW A RI DRIVERS LICENSE.

IF YOUR REGISTRATION IS REVOKED AND YOU ARE SUBSEQUENTLY REINSTATED, YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO TWELVE (12) MONTHS OF MONITORING. DURING THIS PERIOD, ANY LAPSE IN INSURANCE COVERAGE WILL BE CAUSE FOR REVOCATION OF YOUR REGISTRATION, AND YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO PAY A REINSTATEMENT FEE OF \$252.50.

HEARING INFORMATION

YOU MAY HAVE THE RIGHT TO SCHEDULE A HEARING. HEARING REQUESTS MUST BE MADE IN WRITING AND WITHIN 10 DAYS OF THE NOTICE DATE. SUCH REQUESTS CAN BE MADE BY:

- (1) EMAIL REQUEST TO <u>dmv.ivhearings@dmv.ri.gov</u>
- (2) FAX TO 401-462-5788
- (3) MAILING TO THE DMV ADDRESS LISTED ON THE FRONT SIDE.

BY REQUESTING A HEARING, NO FURTHER ACTION TO REVOKE YOUR REGISTRATION WILL BE TAKEN UNTIL A HEARING HAS BEEN HELD AND A DECISION ISSUED.

HEARING PROCEDURES

In accordance with Rhode Island General Laws 31-11-7 (d) thru (f), the Division of Motor Vehicles ("DMV") shall ensure that the hearing procedures provide for the following:

- (1) an opportunity for an in person hearing before a fair and impartial decision-maker;
- (2) the opportunity to produce relevant documents and witnesses;
- (3) the opportunity to ask questions of an otherwise confront and cross-examine witnesses;
- (4) access to all of the evidence upon which the DMV relied in making its decision; and
- (5) the right to present any and all relevant and admissible evidence.

During the hearing, the DMV shall bear the burden of proof as to the existence of the grounds for the revocation. The DMV may also administer oaths and may issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant records, books and papers.

After the hearing, the DMV shall issue a written decision based solely on the hearing evidence and containing the legal and factual basis for the decision. The DMV may either decide against the registration revocation, determining that the revocation is not warranted or may revoke the registration.