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RHODE ISLAND DEALERS’ LICENSE UPDATE INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2024 

Rhode Island General Law § 31-5-8§ License - Fee. (a) The license fee for each year shall be as 

follows: the fee for the license to each motor vehicle dealer shall be three hundred dollars ($300) 

plus a fee in like amount for each office or branch.  (b) Commencing January 1, 2015, the license 

fee for the three-year (3) license duration shall be nine hundred dollars ($900) payable in 

installments of three hundred dollars ($300) per year. Although the Dealer’s License is valid for a 

three-year period, there are several requirements that need to be met each year to maintain your 

Dealers’ License in good standing, and to receive the required authorization to renew your Dealer 

plates. These requirements are as follows. 

 Completed Application for Renewal of Motor Vehicle Dealers’ License to include the 

following: 

1. Complete and notarize customer profile on page1 and must match what we have on record.

2. An updated Employee List.

3. An updated Employee Authorization form.

4. An updated Dealer Runner Authorization form.

5. MVT-10 Authorization form.

6. A line of Credit Affidavit signed by a bank official and notarized. (enclosed)

7. $50,000 Surety Bond and Power of Attorney Authorization, notarized (sample enclosed)

8. An updated Permit to Make Sales at Retail that includes d/b/a name and address as licensed

from the RI Division of Taxation that expires no earlier than June 30, 2025 for

each dealership location.

9. Certificate of Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Secretary of State (if you are a

corporation) You can contact the Secretary of State by calling (401) 222-3040 or accessing

their website https://www.sos.ri.gov/.

10. An active ‘Second Hand’ license or equivalent, if required by your local city or town.

11. A company check in the amount of $302.50 payable to the “RI Dealers’ License and

Regulations Office” for each location.

    Please send application in same order as listed above. 
You must submit the required documentation either by mail or at the Dealers’ License and Regulations Office 

drop box, 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 no later than Wednesday, December 1, 2024. This will

allow this office enough time to process the required documentation prior to December 31, 2024. Due to

the large volume, individuals dropping off their documents in-person will not be allowed to wait for the forms to 

be reviewed. Please ensure that all the documents are completed in their entirety, and are signed by the 

appropriate corporate officer, sole owner or partner. When completing the required forms, please do not cross out 

or use correction fluid to correct errors. All signatures must be properly notarized prior to submission. 

No changes will be accepted, example (name, officers, or locations).  Changes may be made after the 2025
renewal has been approved. 
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State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
dmv.dealerlicensing@dmv.ri.gov



Please note that incomplete or illegible forms cannot be processed and will be returned. The intentional 

submission of any false or fraudulent information will lead to the appropriate sanctions up to and including the 

potential suspension or revocation of your Dealers’ License and possible criminal prosecution.  No exceptions. 

Rules and Regulations regarding Dealers, Manufacturers, and Rental Licenses can be located by going the 

DMV website at https://dmv.ri.gov/forms/business-forms. 

As a licensed entity with the Dealer’s Licensing and Regulations Office you are responsible for ensuring 

that your business complies with those rules and regulations.  

The completed renewal package can be either mailed to our office or placed in the drop box 

located outside our office during normal business hours. 

Once processed, you will be sent the registration renewal form and instructions.    

If you have any questions or require additional information, you may contact the Dealer License and 

Regulation Office at (401) 462-5746.  

Only one application for Main location and Annex is required. 

Include a check for $302.50 for each location. 
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State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
dmv.dealerlicensing@dmv.ri.gov
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MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS’ RENEWAL APPLICATION 

CUSTOMER PROFILE             DATE: 

1. Corporate Name:

2. d/b/a Name:

3. Principal Business Location: Number/Street City/Town State Zip code 

4. Location of Annex  Number/Street City/Town State Zip code 

5.Telephone Number of Dealership: Fax Number: 

   Cell Phone Number: Home Phone Number: 

E-mail: Federal Tax ID # 

6.License Number(s):    Main                       Annex                              Date of 1st original license. ____________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

7. Names, titles and addresses of all Corporate Officers, Owners or Partners of Dealership:

Name Title and date of title Residential Address 

8. a.) Name of company you have contract or franchise with:  Effective Date: 

    b.)  If yes, what make of vehicles? 

List Number of Vehicles sold from January 1, 2024- to present date for both main and

annex: ______________ 

New Vehicles Retailed: ____________ 

Used Vehicles Retailed: ____________ 

Used Vehicles Wholesaled: __________ 

Total Number of Vehicles Sold in 2024: ________

Dealer Plates Assigned (list all): ________________________________________________________ 

900 Dealer Plates Assigned:____________________________________________________________ 

I, the undersigned, hereby declare that I am the owner, officer or member of the above dealership and that all the  

information contained on this application is true to the best of my knowledge or belief under the penalty of Perjury. 

Printed name: Signature of applicant: _______________________________ __________________________________ 
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OFFICIAL USE ONLY: 

RECEIVED: _______________ 

CHECK #__________________ 

ISSUED: __________________ 

1.. Customer Profile YES ( )  NO (  ) 

2.. Employee List  YES ( )  NO (  ) 

3. Employee Authorization Form YES ( )  NO (  ) 

4. Runner List YES ( )  NO (  ) 

5. MVT-10 Authorization YES ( )  NO (  ) 

6. Line of 6. Line of Credit Affidavit YES ( )  NO (  ) 

7. Bond to read exact as file card. YES ( )  NO (  ) 

8. Updated Tax Permit. YES ( )  NO (  ) 

9. Letter of Good Standing YES ( )  NO (  ) 

10. 2nd Hand License YES ( )  NO (  ) 

11. Check Attached YES ( )  NO (  ) 

Reviewed by ___________________________________ 

Name Date 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND COUNTY OF______________ 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day  

of__________________20_____. 

Notary Public 

Date Notary Term Expires: _______________________________ 



State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
dmv.dealerlicensing@dmv.ri.gov

2025
Employee List 

Corporate Name: ______________________________________________________________ 

d/b/a Name: __________________________________________________________________ 

List all employees who are presently on your payroll and receive W-2 forms: 
1099 FORMS ARE NOT ACCEPTED IN THE DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

Drivers License#Name: ____________________________ ________________________ 

TOTAL NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES LISTED: _________________________________ 

PLEASE SUBMIT A NEW LIST ANY TIME THERE IS AN EMPLOYEE CHANGE. 

No

Have you or any of your employees been convicted of a criminal offense within the last 12 months? 

Yes____   ____  

If yes, please explain in detail on additional sheet. 2 



State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
dmv.dealerlicensing@dmv.ri.gov
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DEALERS’ EMPLOYEE AUTHORIZATION 

Dealership Licensed Name: _________________________________________ 

Business Address: _________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________ 

The following people, including owner, partner and corporate officer, are properly authorized to pick 

up MVT10 forms and or Loaner Agreements, and other forms as allowed by the Department of 

Motor Vehicles for the above-named dealership. 

Name               Drivers’ License Number 

1._________________________________________________________________________________ 

2._________________________________________________________________________________ 

3._________________________________________________________________________________ 

It is understood that every dealership is entitled to list a maximum of three (3) employees who are 

noted on the Employee List receiving a W-2 form.  You must contact the Dealers’ License & 

Regulations office if you must make any changes to this list. 
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State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
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DEALERS’ RUNNER AUTHORIZATION 

Dealership Licensed Name:   _______________________________________________ 

Business Address: ________________________________________________________ 

RHODE ISLAND DEALER RUNNERS AUTHORIZED TO REGISTER VEHICLES ONLY 

      Name                Drivers’ License Number 

1.____________________________________________________________________________ 

2.____________________________________________________________________________ 

3.____________________________________________________________________________ 

If the dealership is using a 3rd party registration service, please provide the following 

information for this service runner: 

NAME___________________________________________ 

PHONE__________________________________________ 

EMAIL__________________________________________  

* The service must check in with Enforcement with proof of employment from your

dealership.
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State of Rhode Island 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920 
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Dealership Name: ___________________________________________________ 

Business Address: __________________________________________________________ 

MVT-10 INSTRUCTION FOR USE 

Assignments must be completed IN FULL when transferring from dealer to dealer or dealer to private 

party, e.g., buyer and seller information, mileage, signatures, printed names dates, and dealer license 

number.  

Dealers must complete ALL assignments on the title BEFORE using the MVT-10 form.  

All reassignments (MVT-10) that are assigned to a dealership are to be used by that dealership ONLY.  

Dealer is responsible for all MVT-10’s assigned to the dealership. 

We acknowledge that we have read the instructions for use of an MVT-10. It is understood that the 

dealership is responsible for the use of the MVT-10’s assigned to them. 

_____________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF OWNER, PARTNER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER 

_____________________________________ 

PRINTED NAME OF OWNER, PARTNER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER 
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DEALERS’ LINE OF CREDIT AFFIDAVIT 

Pursuant to the Rules and Regulations Regarding Dealers, Manufacturers & Rental Licenses, the 

below named dealership maintains a line of credit of at least $50,000 at the following financial 

institution:   

Dealership Licensed Name:   _____________________________________________________ 

Business Address: _____________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________ 

Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Officer 

_________________________________________ 

Print Name 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

Name of financial institution) 

____________________________________________________________________________ 

Address 

__________________________________________ 

Phone Number  

Authorized Financial Agent: 

_____________________________________           ______________________________________ 

Print Name     Authorized Financial Agent Signature 

_____________________________________ 

Direct Phone Number 

 State of Rhode Island   County_______________________________ 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day of _____________20____________ 

_________________________________ ______________________________ 

Notary Public  Commission Expires 
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           SURETY BOND NO. ____________________ State of Rhode Island - Division of Motor Vehicles
Dealers License and Regulations Office
600 New London Avenue  Cranston, RI 02920
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789  dmv.dealerlicensing@dmv.ri.gov  

Know all men by these presents 
That we_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

of  _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

as principal and_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

a corporation organized under the laws of the State of ________________________________________________________________ 

and authorized to do business in the State of Rhode Island and having an office at __________________________________________ 

_______________________________________ in the State of____________ as surety are held and firmly bound unto the Rhode 

Island Dealers License & Regulations office in the State of Rhode Island in the penal sum of ___________________________dollars 

($_______________ ) lawful money of the United States of America, well and truly to be paid to the said Regulations Office or their 

successors, or assigns, for which payment, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, ours heirs, executors, administrators and 

successors jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.  Said Regulations Office may assign to purchasers / sellers of motor vehicles 

from the principal any and all rights arising out of this obligation.  WHEREAS, The principal has applied or is about to apply to the 

Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office for a license to conduct the business of a motor vehicle dealer pursuant to the 

provisions of Chapter 1499 Public Laws 1956 as amended, for the year commencing _________________________________, 20 

_______ and ending December 31, 20______ at ______________  in the State of Rhode Island. 

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that if the said principal shall faithful comply with the 

provisions of the motor vehicles dealers license law, being Chapter 1499 Public Laws of 1956 as amended or as hereafter amended, 

and shall promptly pay all costs and damages incurred or caused by any violation of the provisions of said Chapter or any regulation 

of the Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office, then this obligation is to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and 

effect, subject, however, to the following conditions: 

1. The aggregate liability of the Surety on account of any and all defaults hereunder shall in no event exceed the penal sum of this

bond.

2. Unless previously cancelled, as hereinafter provided, this bond shall be in effect for the period of said license. Ending December

31st of the above-stated calendar year.  The Surety may, however, at any time terminate its obligation hereunder by giving sixty (60)

days written notice to said Principal and the Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office, in which event the liability of the

Surety shall, at the expiration of said sixty (60) days, cease and determine, except as to such liability of the Principal for violation of

said Chapter or regulation of said Regulations Office occurring prior to the expiration of said sixty (60) days.

3. No action to recover hereunder may be brought after the expiration of two (2) years from the termination of this bond.

Signed, sealed and 

Delivered in the presence of: Dealership Name: ___________________________________________ 

Owners’ Signature: _______________________________________ 

__________________________ 

_____________________________________________________ Surety 

Print name of Insurance Agency 

by ________________________________________________________ 

Surety Authorized Signature 

Title_______________________________________________________ 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PRINCIPAL 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND (As owner, partner, or corporate officer) 

County of ___________________ 

On this __________ Day of _______________ 20 _______ before me personally appeared the above named _______________________, 

Representing_____________________________ as to me known and known to me to be the same person described in and who executed 

the above instrument and duly acknowledged the execution of the same. 

___________________________________ 

Notary Public 

Approved __________________ 20 _______ Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office 

_______________________________________________ 

Administrator - DMV 

   IMPORTANT! THIS BOND IS NOT VALID UNLESS PROOF OF ACCEPTANCE (Power of Attorney Authorization) 

FROM INSURANCE COMPANY IS ATTACHED TO THIS DOCUMENT.  SUBMIT ORIGINAL BONDS TO THE 

DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI 02920 
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