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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
Phone: 401-462-5733     Fax: 401-462-5789     www.dmv.ri.gov 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FRANCHISE APPLICATION 
The following instructions must be followed, and the Application for a Franchise Dealer’s License must be 
accompanied by all the following documents: 
1. The proposed dealership name and location must first be approved by the Dealers’ License & Regulations Office

prior to submitting this application.
2. The application, a financial statement prepared by a certified public accountant (CPA), and employee forms must be

completed in full, signed and notarized, and accompanied by an approved line of credit for fifty thousand dollars
($50,000) from a financial institution, in the dealership’s name.

3. $50,000 surety bond (from insurance company) completed, signed, and notarized in the D/B/A name.

4. Four (4) pictures of the outside of building from all angles, to include the entire building and lot display area.  Also, a
picture of a 24-square foot sign (minimum size) stating the exact dealership name.  Use the D/B/A name if the business
is using one.

5. A franchise dealer must first comply with Rhode Island General Law §31-5.1-4.2 (having the Manufacturer/Distributor
Issue Letter(s) of Intent).  If no protests are received after the 30-day protest period, your application will go before the
board.  Manufacturer/Distributor must be licensed with the Dealers’ License & Regulations Office.

Upon receipt of the above, the application will be investigated and scheduled for a hearing before the Dealer’s 
Hearing Board.  If the application is approved by the Board, the following additional documents must be received in 
this office within thirty (30) days in order to finalize the application and issue the dealer’s license. 
6. Call the Licensing Aide (401) 462-5732 to request license and plate numbers that have been assigned.

7. You must contact the Rhode Island Division of Taxation to obtain a sales tax permit and to order the T-336-1 form.  The 
Division of Taxation is located at One Capitol Hill, Providence and can be contacted at (401) 574-8869 or 574-8895. 
Please submit a copy of the tax permit.

8. $302.50 License Fee (money order or check), made payable to “Dealers’ License & Regulations Office.”
9. Business telephone number.

10. Insurance form (GU-1338 certificate) must be filed with the Department of Financial Responsibility at the Division of 
Motor Vehicles, 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920.  This form should be in the D/B/A name only.  For 
information, contact the Financial Responsibility Office (401) 462-9246.

11. A Franchise Dealer must furnish the Dealer Agreement.

12. A blank Bill of Sale form must be provided to the Dealers’ License & Regulations Office for approval.



 
APPLICATION FOR FRANCHISE 
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND  
 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
Phone: 401-462-5733     Fax: 401-462-5789     
www.dmv.ri.gov 
 

OFFICIAL USE ONLY 
 

        License #: _______________ 

  Date Granted:  _______________ 

     Date Issued:  _______________ 

          Check #:  _______________ 

            Plate #:  _______________ 
 
 

 
1. Date: ____________________ 
 
2. Corporate Name: ____________________________________________   

 
3. D/B/A Name: _____________________________________________________________________________      

 
Principal Business Location: ___________________________________________________________ 

 
E-mail: __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business #: ______________________      Fax #: ______________________     
 
Home #: ______________________  Cellular #: ______________________ 

 
4. Type of Vehicles: 

 

  Passenger Cars Only            Trucks Only            Passenger Cars & Trucks      
 

  Motorcycles               Tractor-trailers 
 
5. How long have you been established as a dealer? _____________ 
 
6. Make of vehicles ___________________________________________________ 

 
7. Franchise or Contract: 

 

Name Address Date 
   
   
   
   
   
 

8. Floor Space: Sales _______________ Service _______________ 
 

Yard Space: Sales _______________ Service _______________ 
 

Value of Service Station Equipment: _______________ 
 

 
9. Give names and addresses of ALL officers and members of the firm: 

 
Title Name Residence Address 
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10. Number of Salespersons Employed: ____________ 
 
11. Name of Insurance Company: __________________________________     Policy #: __________________ 

 
12. Business References and telephone #s: 
 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 
I, the undersigned, hereby declare that I am ______________________________ (title, if any) of the above 
firm and the above information is true to the best of my knowledge or belief. 
 
 
Written signature of applicant: ___________________________________ 
 
State of Rhode Island 
 

County of: ______________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________, 20____ 
 
        
         _________________________________ 
                 Notary Public 
           
         Commission expires _______________ 
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FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BALANCE SHEET 
  

________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  CORPORATE NAME                                                               BUSINESS ADDRESS                                 CITY                         STATE          ZIP CODE 
______________________________    ___________________________________ 
  D/B/A NAME          PRESIDENT 
______________________________    ___________________________________ 
  OWNER           VICE PRESIDENT 
______________________________    ___________________________________ 
  PARTNER          SECRETARY 
______________________________ 
  TREASURER 
 

 

ASSETS 
 
Current Assets    Amount 

1. Cash on Hand            $____________ 
2. Cash in ______________________ $____________ 

               Name of Bank 
3. Cash in ______________________ $____________ 

              Name of Bank 
Receivables 

4. Accounts $____________  $____________ 
 

Inventories (At Cost Plus Freight) 
5. New and Used Cars & Trucks  $____________ 
      (At cost or book value – whichever is lower) 
6. Parts and Accessories   $____________ 
7. Other Inventory (Describe)  $____________ 
8. ____________________________ $____________ 
9. ____________________________ $____________ 
10. ____________________________ $____________ 
 

Prepaid Expenses 
11. Rent and Insurance   $____________ 
12. Other Prepaid Expenses  $____________ 
 

Fixed Assets 
13. Land and Buildings (Auto Business) $____________ 
14. Auto Machinery (tools & equipment) $____________ 
15. Office Furniture and Fixtures  $____________ 
 

Other Assets Not Listed Above 
16. ____________________________ $____________ 
17. ____________________________ $____________ 
18. ____________________________ $____________ 
19. ____________________________ $____________ 
 

20. TOTAL ASSETS    $____________ 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

LIABILITIES 
 
Current Liabilities   Amount 
21.  Accounts Payable           $____________ 
22.  Notes Payable   $____________ 
23.  # of New Cars Floor-Planned $____________ 
24.  # of New Trcks. & Impl. Floor-Pln. $____________ 
25.  # of Demonstrators Floor-Planned $____________ 
26.  # Used Vehicles Floor-Planned $____________ 
 

27. Customer Deposits on Motor Vehicles to be 
      Delivered (Names to be furnished upon request)  

      a. Cash    $____________ 
      b. Trade-in on other merchandise $____________ 
28.  Soc.Sec. & Unemploy. Comp. $____________ 
 

2 29.  TOTAL (lines 21-28 incl.)  $____________ 
 

Mortgages Payable On: 
30.  Land and Buildings (Auto Business) $____________ 
31.  Auto Machinery (tools & equipment) $____________ 
32.  Office Furniture and Fixtures $____________ 
33.  Other ______________________ $____________ 
34.  Judgment Outstanding  $____________ 
 

Reserves and Contingent Liabilities 
35.  Land and Buildings (Auto Business) $____________ 
36.  Other ______________________ $____________ 
37.  __________________________ $____________ 
 

38.  TOTAL (lines 21-35 incl.)  $____________ 
 

Capital 
39.  Stock Outstanding   $____________ 
40.  Proprietor’s Investment  $____________ 
41.  Partner’s Investments  $____________ 
  

42.  TOTAL (lines 39-42 incl.)  $____________ 
        (Should equal total assets) 
 
 

 STATE OF ______________________ ) SS.  
 

COUNTY    ______________________         ) 
 
I, __________________________________, being first duly sworn on oath, depose and say that the foregoing statement in behalf of 
the above named applicant and the report of the consumer’s deposits are true to the best of my knowledge, except those matters 
therein stated on information and belief, and I believe them to be true.  

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me on this ________ day   __________________________________________ 
of ______________________________, 20______.     Signature of Partner, Owner or Active Officer 
 

 
_________________________________________________   _________________________________________________ 
Notary Public         CPA Signature                                          LICENSE NUMBER 
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND  
 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
Phone: 401-462-5733     Fax: 401-462-5789     www.dmv.ri.gov 
  

 

EMPLOYEE LIST 
 
 
Corporate Name: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
D/B/A Name: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
List all employees who are presently on your payroll and receive W-2 forms: 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 

 
TOTAL NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES LISTED: ____________ 
 
 
NOTE:  Please submit a new list every time there is an employee change.  1099 forms are not accepted in 

the Dealers’ License & Regulation Office. 
 
 
Have you or any of your employees had any criminal charges or violations of Rhode Island General Laws 
lodged against them?   YES      NO 
 

If so, please explain in detail on an additional sheet. 
 
I, the undersigned, hereby declare under penalty of perjury, that I have examined this statement regarding 
the number of employees, and to the best of my knowledge this is true and correct.  Rhode Island General 
Laws § 31-11-17. 
 
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Officer: ___________________________________ 
 
State of Rhode Island 
 

County of: ______________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________, 20____ 
        
          

_________________________________ 
                 Notary Public 
           
         Commission expires _______________ 
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND  
 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
Phone: 401-462-5733     Fax: 401-462-5789     www.dmv.ri.gov 
  

 

DEALERS’ EMPLOYEE AUTHORIZATION 
 
 
Dealership Licensed Name: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Authorization #: _______________ 
 
 
The following people, including owner, partner, or corporate officer, are properly authorized to pick up 20-
day Temporary Plates, Loaner Agreement forms, and other forms as allowed by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles for the above named dealership. 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
It is understood that every dealership is entitles to list a maximum of three (3) employees who are noted on 
the Employee List receiving a W-2 form.  You must contact the Dealers’ License & Regulations Office if you 
need to make any changes to this list. 
 
 
NOTE:  This is not an authorization to register vehicles in the Dealers’ Room. 
 
 
 
 
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Officer: ___________________________________ 
 
Printed Name: ___________________________________ 
 
 
State of Rhode Island 
 

County of: ______________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________, 20____ 
        
         _________________________________ 
                 Notary Public 
           
         Commission expires _______________ 
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND  
 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
Phone: 401-462-5733     Fax: 401-462-5789     www.dmv.ri.gov 
  

 

DEALERS’ RUNNER AUTHORIZATION 
 
 
Dealership Licensed Name: ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
AUTHORIZED RHODE ISLAND DEALER RUNNERS 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
Name: __________________________________ Driver’s License #: _______________ 
 
 
 
 
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporate Officer: ___________________________________ 
 
 
Printed Name: ___________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
State of Rhode Island 
 

County of: ______________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ day of ____________________, 20____ 
        
         _________________________________ 
                 Notary Public 
           
         Commission expires _______________ 
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Know all men by these presents      SURETY BOND NUMBER: ____________ 
 

Forward original bonds to: 
RHODE ISLAND DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI  02920-3024 
 
That we ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
of _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
as principal and _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
a corporation organized under the laws of the State of _______________________________________________________________________ 
and authorized to do business in the State of Rhode Island and having an office at  ________________________________________________ 
in the State of Rhode Island as surety are held and firmly bound unto the Rhode Island Dealers’ License and Regulations Office in the State of 
Rhode Island in the penal sum of ________________________________________ dollars ($______________) lawful money of the United 
States of America, well and truly to be paid to the said Regulations Office or their successors, or assigns, for which payment, well and truly to be 
made, we bind ourselves, ours heirs, executors, administrators and successors jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.  Said Regulations 
Office may assign to purchasers/sellers of motor vehicles from the principal any and all right arising out of this obligation.  WHEREAS, The 
principal has applied or about to apply to the Rhode Island Dealers’ License and Regulations Office for a license to conduct the business of a 
motor vehicle dealer pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 1499 Public Laws 1956, as amended, for the year commencing 
________________________, 20_______ and ending December 31, 20_______ at ____________________ in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that if the said principal shall faithfully comply with the provisions of 
the motor vehicles dealers license law, being Chapter 1499 Public Laws of 1956 as amended or as hereafter amended, and shall promptly pay 
all costs and damages incurred or caused by any violation of the provisions of said Chapter or any regulation of the Rhode Island Dealers’ 
License and Regulations Office, then this obligation is to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and effect, subject, however, to the following 
conditions: 
 

1. The aggregate liability of the Surety on account of any and all defaults hereunder shall in no event exceed the penal sum of this bond. 
 
2. Unless previously canceled, as hereinafter provided, this bond shall be in effect for the period of said license.  Ending December 31st of 

the above-stated calendar year.  The Surety many, however, at any time terminate its obligation hereunder by giving sixty (60) days 
written notice to said Principal and the Rhode Island Dealers’ License and Regulations Office, in which event the liability of the Surety 
shall, at the expiration of said sixty (60) days, cease and determine, except as to such liability of the Principal for violation of said 
Chapter or regulation of said Regulations Office occurring prior to the expiration of said sixty (60) days. 

 
3. No action to recover hereunder may be brought after the expiration of two (2) years from the termination of this bond. 

 

 
Signed, sealed and delivered 
in the presence of:     Dealership Name: _________________________________________________ 
        
__________________________    Owner’s Signature: ________________________________________________ 
 Print Name of Insurance Agency     
       ___________________________________________________________ Surety 
        

by ______________________________________________________________ 
       Surety Authorized Signature 
 
Title: ____________________________________________________________ 
 
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PRINCIPAL 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND    (As owner, partner or corporate officer) 
 
County of _______________________ 
 
On this _________ day of _________________________, 20_______ before me personally appeared the above-named  
 
____________________________________________, representing ___________________________________________________________ 
 
as to me known and known to me to be the same person described in and who executed the above instrument and duly acknowledged the 
execution of the same. 
 
_______________________________________ 
  Notary Public 
 
Approved _____________________________, 20_______    Rhode Island Dealers’ License and Regulations Office 
 
_______________________________________ 
  Administrator 
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: THIS BOND IS NOT VALID UNLESS PROOF OF ACCEPTANCE (Power of Attorney Authorization) FROM 

INSURANCE COMPANY IS ATTACHED TO THIS DOCUMENT.  SUBMIT ORIGINAL BONDS TO THE DEALERS’    
LICENSE AND REGULATION OFFICE, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI  02920 
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