ROAD TEST

Information and Procedures

Preparing for your
Operator’s License
skills test

Schedule
your test

online.




Scheduling
Your Test
Online.

Road Test Self-Scheduling

We are happy to now offer the convenience to self
-schedule and modify your appointment online
from your home computer or mobile device. This
service may only be accessed from the Rl DMV
website located at the following address:

http://www.dmv.ri.gov

Make sure that you are on the official RI DMV
website. Only official government sites can use
the “.gov” name!

For the best selection of locations, dates, and
times we recommend you schedule your appoint-
ment as far in advance as possible. To schedule
your appointment you will need to have the follow-
ing items ready:

® Your valid learner’s permit
® A printer (to print receipt if desired)

® A major Credit Card (if fee is applicable)

You can reschedule or review your appointment
online, even if your original appointment was
made in person at the DMV.

Cancelling or Re-Scheduling

Permit holders may also use this service to cancel
and/ or re-schedule existing appointments at least
48 hours prior to the scheduled appointment time
without incurring any additional fees.

NOTE: Road tests cancelled less than 48 hours
prior to the scheduled date and time will be
considered a late cancellation and will require
payment for another appointment.




Build Your Driving
Skills

With a Limited Instructional Permit, you can prac-
tice driving under the supervision of a properly
licensed driver who has held a license for at least
five (5) years and is twenty-one (21) years of age
or older. The licensed driver must be sitting beside
you at all times. The licensed driver is legally re-
sponsible for any driving violation you may commit.

You and all passengers must wear a safety belt or
be in a child restraint system as required by law.

Individuals under the age of 18 must hold a Limited
Instructional Permit for at least six (6) months and
have at least 50 hours of supervised driving experi-
ence (with ten of those hours at night) before they
can take a Rhode Island DMV road test. A Signed
and notarized affidavit verifying that this 50 hour
requirement has been met will be required prior to
license issuance.

Individuals over the age of 18 must hold a Learn-
er's Permit for at least one (1) month. While not
required by law, we highly recommend that they
have the same 50 hours of supervised driving ex-
perience before taking the Rhode Island DMV road
test.

A driver is more apt to perform the way they prac-
tice. Learning only from a family member or close
friend may introduce you to bad habits that the
family member or friend may have learned or
adapted on his or her own. You should drive with
as many different supervising drivers as possible to
gain as much experience as possible.




Be Prepared on the Day
of Your Test

Applicant Requirements

[ Original permit. (photocopies are not acceptable)

[ Completed “Application for License, Identification
Card and Permits (LI-1)” form (required for first li-
cense issuance) *If under 18 years of age and applying
for a first license, the LI-1 form must be notarized if
parent/guardian is not present or has a different last name
than the applicant.

[ Licensed driver/supervising driver must accompa-
ny the applicant (out-of-state license is acceptable).

[ Signed and notarized affidavit of 50 hours driving
experience required for all drivers under 18 years of

age. '

Vehicle Reguirements

[1 Must have a valid RHODE ISLAND registration.

The only exceptions are as follows:

1. If the vehicle is registered to a military person
or a family member of a military person sta-
tioned in RI. (valid military ID is required)

2. A driving school with a valid out-of-state regis-
tration, must have current special Rl Financial
Responsibility  Insurance Certificate (GU-
1338b) on file with RI DMV. A copy of this form
must also be presented to the examiner at the
Road Test site.

[ Proof of valid, current Rhode Island insurance —
identification card. (photocopies are acceptable)

[ Vehicle owner/lessee must be present. If the
registered owner of the vehicle is not present, a
notarized letter allowing use of the vehicle is re-
quired. (letter from the owner/corporate officer of a
corporation, if a corporate vehicle). '




Additional
Requirements

The vehicle must pass a visual pre-trip
safety inspection. The Road Test Examiner
will conduct a vehicle safety inspection. The
following items are part of the safety inspec-
tion:

Valid RI Inspection Sticker?
Directional lights
Headlights

Brake lights

Hazard lights

® Tires

® SRS (airbag) Light

® ABS Light

® Aftermarket window tinting

11 Applicant must be completely familiar with
all vehicle controls.

01 All instructions will be given in English.
(Lists of terms used during the test are
available.)’

No cameras or recording devices will be
allowed during the test.

Due to the lack of modern safety features,
NO tests will be permitted in Antique vehi-
cles.

71 No rental vehicles are allowed for the road
tests

_I No pets allowed in the vehicle used for
the road test.

"I No passengers (other than DMV Examin-
ers) allowed in the vehicle during the road
test.

" Form available at :
http.//www.dmv.ri.qgov/licenses/roadTest/

2 Vehicles less than 2 years old with less than 24,000
miles are exempt from this requirement




YOU DON'T WANT
THEM RESPONDING
T0 YOUR TEXT.

STOPTEXTS STOP WRECKS.ORG

ONE TEXT OR CALL COULD

WRECK.
© - ITALL

Contact Us:

RI Division of Motor Vehicles
Road Test Office

325 Melrose St

Providence RI 02907

(401) 462-5750

Visit us on the web: www.dmv.ri.gov
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